Embracing Uncertainty

Posted: October 22, 2013 in Uncategorized

Julie

Yesterday was such a beautiful autumn day and I embraced the day by going for a bike ride. I am just learning the bike trails around my new home in Machesney Park and came upon a fork in the trail. One path took me in a direction I had already traveled and one took me to places unknown. I decided to travel the familiar path and justified it in my own mind because daylight was waning and I might not want to get lost as a lone cyclist in the dark. But as I finished my trek toward home, I thought the decision was a great metaphor for life. I pondered how easy it is to travel the familiar rather than reaching out sometimes for new adventures. I thought about all the times I had faced uncertainty…waiting for results of cancer tests, waiting to see the outcome of a troubled relationship, waiting… How do I handle uncertainty? Often I talk to family and friends and express all the fear, doubt, and gratitude that come with uncertainty. Often I talk to God, who I know sees all of me, my strengths, my weaknesses, my fears, my joys. For many years, I had a prayer framed on my desk at the office that I would reflect upon during times I felt unsure of things in life. From the book, “Embracing Uncertainty” by Susan Jeffers, the prayer reads,
Dear God, I trust that no matter what happens in my life, it is for my highest good. And no matter what happens in the life of those I love, it is for their highest good. From all things you put before us, we shall become stronger and more loving people. I am grateful for all the beauty and opportunity you put into my life. And in all that I do, I shall seek to be a channel for your love. Amen
This prayer reminds that God is with me in moments of uncertainty and I can trust in that, even if I can’t feel that closeness during those uncertain moments. God has taught me that he will always be there because he has always been there for me; even if I tried to push him away in those uncertain moments. How great is our God!
So I ask you, what piece of uncertainty can you hand over to God today?

Leave a Reply

